Show Developer Menu

Anonymous Guests

Benefits

You can opt to remove the up-front Name and Email fields on the Reamaze Shoutbox and Lightbox to allow Guests to leave a message with no further fields.

Widget anonymous

When a Guest user leaves a message, your replies will be sent back to the customer immediately via the shoutbox or lightbox. If they have the shoutbox or lightbox closed the reply will be sent via notifications on the host webpage.

Widget reply notification

Reamaze will also later prompt for an email to allow the conversation to transition to email in case no staff users are immediately available to answer.

Widget anonymous2

Installation

Make sure you have the Reamaze.js snippet installed from the Installation Step.

<script type="text/javascript">
  _support['ui']['anonymousMode'] = '{{ MODE }}'
</script>

Copy and place the above code anywhere in your HTML. Then, replace the {{ MODE }} value with one of the following:

  • none will disable anonymous/guest mode and is the same as omitting the option altogether.
  • anonymous will allow guests to leave messages without asking for Name and Email upfront.
  • mixed will allow guests to leave messages without asking for Name and Email upfront only when Live Chat is active and Staff are available for Chat.

Next Step

Now you should have everything you need to set up a great support experience. However, when you reply back to the customer, you may want them to know about it via your application UI.

Next: Unread Callback →